
West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality

601 57th Street
Charleston, WV 25304

Approval to Conduct Open Burning
       (Land Clearing Debris Only)

Applicant: _________________________________________________________________
_________________________________________________________________

Address: _________________________________________________________________
Phone No.       ______________________________ Fax No. ____________________________
Location where burning will occur _________________________________________________ 
Person in charge of burning operation:______________________________________________
Phone number where this person can be contacted during all burning activity: 

_________________________________________________________________
Distance to nearest residence (or off site business): 
Description of material to be burned _______________________________________________

Approval for open burning of  is hereby requested for a
 period of    days beginning  subject  to the following conditions:

1. No trash, asphaltic, rubber or plastic materials are to be burned.
2. No construction or demolition debris is to be burned.
3. There is no practical alternative disposal method for the materials to be burned.
4. Vegetation to be burned must be thoroughly dried (at least 10 days) and must have been 
grown on the premises of the home, farm, or site of land clearing operation.
5. Burning must be conducted during daylight hours only.  Fires must be completely
extinguished and not allowed to smolder overnight.
6. Give careful consideration to the effects, or potential effects, on other people or property. 
Time of day, proximity, type of materials, wind direction and other weather conditions have
a bearing on the effect to others.

In addition this approval is subject to the conditions checked below:
G No trunks, limbs or stumps over 8 inches in diameter (before splitting) are to be

burned
G A pit burner must be used for burning all vegetation at this site.  Setup and operation

of the pit burner must be in conformance with manufacturer’s specifications.
G Permit must be obtained from the Division of Forestry during forest fire season

(March 1 - May 31 and October 1 - December 31) to burn during hours of 7 a.m. and 
4 p.m. 

Note that the Division of Forestry also requires all combustible materials to be removed for at
least 10 feet from material to be burned and that someone attend the fire at all times.

DAQ Approval by:           Applicant’s Signature           
Title:              Date:                                   
Phone: 926-0499, extension                           Phone:                                                           
Fax: 926-0479       Date: ________________ Fax:                                                               
NOTE: Municipal Fire Departments should also be contacted to determine if any additional
requirements are to be met.  (In Charleston: 304-348-8137, fax: 304-348-0731).

We will process and store your personal information (email address, mailing address and/or telephone number) in accordance with the State of
West Virginia’s Privacy Policy for appropriate and customary business purposes.  Your personal information may be disclosed to other State
agencies or third parties in the normal course of business or as needed to comply with statutory or regulatory requirements, including Freedom
of Information Act requests.  If you have any questions about our use of your personal information, please contact the DEP Chief Privacy 
Officer, depprivacyofficer@wv.gov, (304) 926-0499, extension 1442.                                          
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