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STATE     PROGRAM STATISTICS COMMENTS FUNDING

SOURCE(S) 
Total State 
Withdrawal 

Ohio Water Withdrawal 
Facilities 
Registration 
Program 

1,737 facilities 
3,908 wells 
1032 intakes 

1988; Facilities with 
the capability of 
withdrawing greater 
than 100,000 gal. per 
day must register. 

General Revenue 10.9 trillion 
gallons per day 
(USGS 
estimate). 

 Ground Water Stress 
Areas Legislation 

 1990;  Anyone 
withdrawing gw in 
designated stress 
areas in amounts 
greater than a 
threshold must 
register. 

  

Delaware Water Allocation
Permit 

 250 permitted 
facilities. 

1987;  Withdrawals 
greater than 50,000 
gal. per day (either 
gw or sw) must 
register.  Record and 
Report water Usage 
each year.  30 year 
permits 

Permit fees; $250 or 
$375 depending on 
category.  
Modifications 
require an additional 
fee. 
Other funding from 
other programs.   

2004 and 2005 
data not in 
database as they 
switched to a 
new system. 

Kentucky Water Withdrawal 
Permit 

700 regulated entities 
– Agricultural, 
domestic, oil and gas 
and some power 
plants are exempt. 

1966;  Withdrawals 
over 10,000 gal. per 
day averaged over 
the number of days 
pumped.  If pumped 
all year, would be 
over 300,000 gal. per 
month. 

General Revenue.  
No permit fees. 

320 Billion 
Gallons per year. 
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STATE PROGRAM STATISTICS COMMENTS FUNDING 
SOURCE(S) 

Total State 
Withdrawal 

Pennsylvania  Water Withdrawal
and Use Registration 
Reporting Program 

8,964 sources 
registered 

2003;  Are working 
on regulations for 
registration and 
reporting, anticipate 
completion in 2007. 
All public water 
supply agencies and 
hydropower facilities 
are required to 
register.  Facilities 
that use over 10,000 
gal per day, averaged 
over 30 days 
(300,000 gal. per 
month) must  
register.   

General Program 
Funding, no fees, 
some funding from 
penalties. 

3.5 Trillion 
gallons per year. 
 
91% from 
surface water, 
9% from 
groundwater. 

    Withdrawal
Permitting Program 

 1939;  Only applies 
to public water 
supply agencies, and 
only to surface water 
withdrawals.  Must 
have permit 
regardless of quantity 
used.  $25 permit 
application fee. 
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STATE PROGRAM STATISTICS COMMENTS FUNDING 
SOURCE(S) 

Total State 
Withdrawal 

Virginia Virginia Water 
Protection 
Permitting Program 

 Permits stream 
intakes.  Have not 
been based on 
withdrawals, but 
based on flow-by 
conditions.  Recently 
they have been 
setting withdrawal 
limits and flow-by 
limits.  Facilities that 
withdrew prior to 
July 1, 1989 were 
exempt from 
permitting. 

Permit fees and 
General Revenue.  
Permits bring in 
about 30% of the 
operating budget. 

Only about 10% 
of the 
withdrawals have 
permits because 
of the exclusion. 

 Surface Water 
Withdrawal 
Management Act 

No permits issued to 
date. 

1989;  In areas 
declared a Surface 
Water Management 
Area, new water 
withdrawals of 
300,000 gal or more 
per month must be 
permitted.  Existing 
withdrawals must 
have a Surface Water 
Withdrawal 
Certificate to 
continue to 
withdraw.   
10 year permits, 
permit fee is 
$12,000. 

ditto  
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STATE PROGRAM STATISTICS COMMENTS FUNDING 
SOURCE(S) 

Total State 
Withdrawal 

 Ground Water 
Management Act 

Approximately 275 
permitted 
withdrawals 

1992;  Regulates 
withdrawals in 
Ground Water 
Management Areas.  
Any person who 
withdraws 300,000 
gal or more per 
month must have a 
permit. 
10 year permit, fee 
from $1,200 to 
$6,000. 

ditto 120 Mgpd 
permitted in two 
management 
areas.  Not the 
actual amount. 

Maryland Water Withdrawal
Permit 

 13,000 – 14,000 
permits;  This is 
because of the large 
number of small 
permits.  Almost 
everyone has to have 
a permit. 

1930 and 1960;  Any 
withdrawal from 
surface or 
groundwater requires 
a permit, unless 
exempted:  Ag use 
under 10,000gal per 
day,  Residential 
subdivisions of 10 or 
fewer lots, etc. 
12 year permit, no 
fee. 

General funds.  No 
permit fees. 

Rely on USGS to 
provide a report 
based on their 
data.   
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