West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection

Harold D. Ward Cabinet Secretary

Permit to Operate



Pursuant to

Title V

of the Clean Air Act

Issued to:

Marathon Petroleum Company LP Neal Propane Cavern R30-09900118-2025

> Laura M. Crowder Director, Division of Air Quality

Issued: [Date of issuance] • Effective: [Equals issue date plus two weeks]
Expiration: [5 years after issuance date] • Renewal Application Due: [6 months prior to expiration]

Permit Number: R30-09900118-2025
Permittee: Marathon Petroleum Company LP
Facility Name: Neal Propane Cavern

Permittee Mailing Address: P.O. Box 1492; Catlettsburg, KY 41129

This permit is issued in accordance with the West Virginia Air Pollution Control Act (West Virginia Code §§ 22-5-1 et seq.) and 45CSR30 — Requirements for Operating Permits. The permittee identified at the above-referenced facility is authorized to operate the stationary sources of air pollutants identified herein in accordance with all terms and conditions of this permit.

Facility Location: Kenova, Wayne County, West Virginia
Facility Mailing Address: 100 Big Sandy River Rd; Kenova, WV 25530

Telephone Number: (606) 921-3333

Type of Business Entity: LP

Facility Description: This facility is contiguous with Catlettsburg Refining LLC's Catlettsburg

Refinery and MPLX Terminal and Storage's Butane Storage Cavern (Facility ID: 099-00112). The propane cavern serves the Catlettsburg refinery by providing intermediate storage of excess propane produced in the Saturate Gas Plant (SGP), HF Alkylation (HF Alky) Unit, and Cumene Unit. The cavern also receives propane extracted from the propylene/propane stream sold by the Catlettsburg refinery to the Braskem America, Inc.'s Kenova, West Virginia plant. The cavern can supply propane to the refinery's fuel gas system via pipeline, but its predominant function is to supply the product propane for sale to outside customers. Product propane is dried, routed through carbon adsorption beds, certified for certain product specifications, and charged to a series of five (5) pressurized, bullet tanks and is transferred into tanker trucks or railcars for

transportation to customers.

SIC Codes: 2911

UTM Coordinates: 360.688 km Easting • 4,247.736 km Northing • Zone 17

Permit Writer: Beena Modi

Any person whose interest may be affected, including, but not necessarily limited to, the applicant and any person who participated in the public comment process, by a permit issued, modified or denied by the Secretary may appeal such action of the Secretary to the Air Quality Board pursuant to article one [§§ 22B-1-1 et seq.], Chapter 22B of the Code of West Virginia. West Virginia Code §22-5-14.

Issuance of this Title V Operating Permit does not supersede or invalidate any existing permits under 45CSR13, 14 or 19, although all applicable requirements from such permits governing the facility's operation and compliance have been incorporated into the Title V Operating Permit.

Table of Contents

1.0	Emission Units and Active R13, R14, and R19 Permits	
2.0	General Conditions	Error! Bookmark not defined.
3.0	Facility-Wide Requirements	Error! Bookmark not defined.
4.0	Propane Cavern Fugitive Emissions (associated with HF Alky Unit)	
5.0	Firewater Pump Diesel Engine (Emission point ID(s): 2E	122

1.0 Emission Units and Active R13, R14, and R19 Permits

1.1. Emission Units

Emission Unit ID	Emission Point ID	Emission Unit Description	Year Installed	Design Capacity	Control Device
18	1E	HF Alky Unit Fugitive Emissions (WV Scope)	1980	N/A	None
2S	2E	Firewater Pump Diesel Engine	2016	95 HP	None

1.2. Active R13, R14, and R19 Permits

The underlying authority for any conditions from R13, R14, and/or R19 permits contained in this operating permit is cited using the original permit number (e.g. R13-1234). The current applicable version of such permit(s) is listed below.

Permit Number	Date of Issuance
None	NA

2.0 General Conditions

2.1. Definitions

- 2.1.1. All references to the "West Virginia Air Pollution Control Act" or the "Air Pollution Control Act" mean those provisions contained in W.Va. Code §§ 22-5-1 to 22-5-18.
- 2.1.2. The "Clean Air Act" means those provisions contained in 42 U.S.C. §§ 7401 to 7671q, and regulations promulgated thereunder.
- 2.1.3. "Secretary" means the Secretary of the Department of Environmental Protection or other person to whom the Secretary has delegated authority or duties pursuant to W.Va. Code §§ 22-1-6 or 22-1-8 (45CSR§30-2.39.). The Director of the Division of Air Quality is the Secretary's designated representative for the purposes of this permit.
- 2.1.4. Unless otherwise specified in a permit condition or underlying rule or regulation, all references to a "rolling yearly total" shall mean the sum of the monthly data, values or parameters being measured, monitored, or recorded, at any given time for the previous twelve (12) consecutive calendar months.

2.2. Acronyms

CAAA	Clean Air Act Amendments	NSPS	New Source Performance	
CHAA	Confidential Business Information	TIGI B	Standards	
CEM	Continuous Emission Monitor	PM	Particulate Matter	
CES	Certified Emission Statement	PM ₁₀	Particulate Matter less than	
C.F.R. or CFR	Code of Federal Regulations	1 1/110	10µm in diameter	
CO	Carbon Monoxide	nnh	Pounds per Hour	
C.S.R. or CSR	Codes of State Rules	pph	Parts per Million	
DAQ	Division of Air Quality	ppm PSD		
DEP	Department of Environmental	rsu	Prevention of Significant Deterioration	
DEI	Protection	ngi	D Cterrorumon	
FOIA	Freedom of Information Act	psi SIC	Pounds per Square Inch Standard Industrial	
HAP	Hazardous Air Pollutant	SIC	Classification	
HON		CID		
HON HP	Hazardous Organic NESHAP	SIP	State Implementation Plan	
	Horsepower	SO ₂	Sulfur Dioxide	
lbs/hr <i>or</i> lb/hr	Pounds per Hour	TAP	Toxic Air Pollutant	
LDAR	Leak Detection and Repair	TPY	Tons per Year	
m MA CIT	Thousand	TRS	Total Reduced Sulfur	
MACT	Maximum Achievable Control	TSP	Total Suspended Particulate	
	Technology	USEPA	United States	
mm	Million		Environmental Protection	
mmBtu/hr	Million British Thermal Units per		Agency	
. 2.	Hour	UTM	Universal Transverse	
mmft³/hr <i>or</i>	Million Cubic Feet Burned per		Mercator	
mmcf/hr	Hour	VEE	Visual Emissions	
NA or N/A	Not Applicable		Evaluation	
NAAQS	National Ambient Air Quality	VOC	Volatile Organic	
	Standards		Compounds	
NESHAPS	National Emissions Standards for			
	Hazardous Air Pollutants			
NO_x	Nitrogen Oxides			

2.3. Permit Expiration and Renewal

- 2.3.1. Permit duration. This permit is issued for a fixed term of five (5) years and shall expire on the date specified on the cover of this permit, except as provided in 45CSR§30-6.3.b. and 45CSR§30-6.3.c. [45CSR§30-5.1.b.]
- 2.3.2. A permit renewal application is timely if it is submitted at least six (6) months prior to the date of permit expiration.

[45CSR§30-4.1.a.3.]

2.3.3. Permit expiration terminates the source's right to operate unless a timely and complete renewal application has been submitted consistent with 45CSR§30-6.2. and 45CSR§30-4.1.a.3.

[45CSR§30-6.3.b.]

2.3.4. If the Secretary fails to take final action to deny or approve a timely and complete permit application before the end of the term of the previous permit, the permit shall not expire until the renewal permit has been issued or denied, and any permit shield granted for the permit shall continue in effect during that time.

[45CSR§30-6.3.c.]

2.4. Permit Actions

2.4.1. This permit may be modified, revoked, reopened and reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by the permittee for a permit modification, revocation and reissuance, or termination, or of a notification of planned changes or anticipated noncompliance does not stay any permit condition.

[45CSR§30-5.1.f.3.]

2.5. Reopening for Cause

- 2.5.1. This permit shall be reopened and revised under any of the following circumstances:
 - a. Additional applicable requirements under the Clean Air Act or the Secretary's legislative rules become applicable to a major source with a remaining permit term of three (3) or more years. Such a reopening shall be completed not later than eighteen (18) months after promulgation of the applicable requirement. No such reopening is required if the effective date of the requirement is later than the date on which the permit is due to expire, unless the original permit or any of its terms and conditions has been extended pursuant to 45CSR§§30-6.6.a.1.A. or B.
 - b. Additional requirements (including excess emissions requirements) become applicable to an affected source under Title IV of the Clean Air Act (Acid Deposition Control) or other legislative rules of the Secretary. Upon approval by U.S. EPA, excess emissions offset plans shall be incorporated into the permit.
 - c. The Secretary or U.S. EPA determines that the permit contains a material mistake or that inaccurate statements were made in establishing the emissions standards or other terms or conditions of the permit.
 - d. The Secretary or U.S. EPA determines that the permit must be revised or revoked and reissued to assure compliance with the applicable requirements.

[45CSR§30-6.6.a.]

2.6. Administrative Permit Amendments

2.6.1. The permittee may request an administrative permit amendment as defined in and according to the procedures specified in 45CSR§30-6.4.

[45CSR§30-6.4.]

2.7. Minor Permit Modifications

2.7.1. The permittee may request a minor permit modification as defined in and according to the procedures specified in 45CSR§30-6.5.a.

[45CSR§30-6.5.a.]

2.8. Significant Permit Modification

2.8.1. The permittee may request a significant permit modification, in accordance with 45CSR§30-6.5.b., for permit modifications that do not qualify for minor permit modifications or as administrative amendments.

[45CSR§30-6.5.b.]

2.9. Emissions Trading

2.9.1. No permit revision shall be required, under any approved economic incentives, marketable permits, emissions trading, and other similar programs or processes for changes that are provided for in the permit and that are in accordance with all applicable requirements.

[45CSR§30-5.1.h.]

2.10. Off-Permit Changes

- 2.10.1. Except as provided below, a facility may make any change in its operations or emissions that is not addressed nor prohibited in its permit and which is not considered to be construction nor modification under any rule promulgated by the Secretary without obtaining an amendment or modification of its permit. Such changes shall be subject to the following requirements and restrictions:
 - a. The change must meet all applicable requirements and may not violate any existing permit term or condition.
 - b. The permittee must provide a written notice of the change to the Secretary and to U.S. EPA within two (2) business days following the date of the change. Such written notice shall describe each such change, including the date, any change in emissions, pollutants emitted, and any applicable requirement that would apply as a result of the change.
 - c. The change shall not qualify for the permit shield.
 - d. The permittee shall keep records describing all changes made at the source that result in emissions of regulated air pollutants, but not otherwise regulated under the permit, and the emissions resulting from those changes.
 - e. No permittee may make any change subject to any requirement under Title IV of the Clean Air Act (Acid Deposition Control) pursuant to the provisions of 45CSR§30-5.9.

f. No permittee may make any changes which would require preconstruction review under any provision of Title I of the Clean Air Act (including 45CSR14 and 45CSR19) pursuant to the provisions of 45CSR830-5.9.

[45CSR§30-5.9.]

2.11. Operational Flexibility

2.11.1. The permittee may make changes within the facility as provided by § 502(b)(10) of the Clean Air Act. Such operational flexibility shall be provided in the permit in conformance with the permit application and applicable requirements. No such changes shall be a modification under any rule or any provision of Title I of the Clean Air Act (including 45CSR14 and 45CSR19) promulgated by the Secretary in accordance with Title I of the Clean Air Act and the change shall not result in a level of emissions exceeding the emissions allowable under the permit.

[45CSR§30-5.8]

2.11.2. Before making a change under 45CSR§30-5.8., the permittee shall provide advance written notice to the Secretary and to U.S. EPA, describing the change to be made, the date on which the change will occur, any changes in emissions, and any permit terms and conditions that are affected. The permittee shall thereafter maintain a copy of the notice with the permit, and the Secretary shall place a copy with the permit in the public file. The written notice shall be provided to the Secretary and U.S. EPA at least seven (7) days prior to the date that the change is to be made, except that this period may be shortened or eliminated as necessary for a change that must be implemented more quickly to address unanticipated conditions posing a significant health, safety, or environmental hazard. If less than seven (7) days notice is provided because of a need to respond more quickly to such unanticipated conditions, the permittee shall provide notice to the Secretary and U.S. EPA as soon as possible after learning of the need to make the change.

[45CSR§30-5.8.a.]

- 2.11.3. The permit shield shall not apply to changes made under 45CSR§30-5.8., except those provided for in 45CSR§30-5.8.d. However, the protection of the permit shield will continue to apply to operations and emissions that are not affected by the change, provided that the permittee complies with the terms and conditions of the permit applicable to such operations and emissions. The permit shield may be reinstated for emissions and operations affected by the change:
 - a. If subsequent changes cause the facility's operations and emissions to revert to those authorized in the permit and the permittee resumes compliance with the terms and conditions of the permit, or
 - b. If the permittee obtains final approval of a significant modification to the permit to incorporate the change in the permit.

[45CSR§30-5.8.c.]

2.11.4. "Section 502(b)(10) changes" are changes that contravene an express permit term. Such changes do not include changes that would violate applicable requirements or contravene enforceable permit terms and conditions that are monitoring (including test methods), recordkeeping, reporting, or compliance certification requirements.

[45CSR§30-2.40]

2.12. Reasonably Anticipated Operating Scenarios

- 2.12.1. The following are terms and conditions for reasonably anticipated operating scenarios identified in this permit.
 - a. Contemporaneously with making a change from one operating scenario to another, the permittee shall record in a log at the permitted facility a record of the scenario under which it is operating and to document the change in reports submitted pursuant to the terms of this permit and 45CSR30.
 - b. The permit shield shall extend to all terms and conditions under each such operating scenario; and
 - c. The terms and conditions of each such alternative scenario shall meet all applicable requirements and the requirements of 45CSR30.

[45CSR§30-5.1.i.]

2.13. Duty to Comply

2.13.1. The permittee must comply with all conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance constitutes a violation of the West Virginia Code and the Clean Air Act and is grounds for enforcement action by the Secretary or USEPA; for permit termination, revocation and reissuance, or modification; or for denial of a permit renewal application.

[45CSR§30-5.1.f.1.]

2.14. Inspection and Entry

- 2.14.1. The permittee shall allow any authorized representative of the Secretary, upon the presentation of credentials and other documents as may be required by law, to perform the following:
 - a. At all reasonable times (including all times in which the facility is in operation) enter upon the permittee's premises where a source is located or emissions related activity is conducted, or where records must be kept under the conditions of this permit;
 - b. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records that must be kept under the conditions of this permit;
 - Inspect at reasonable times (including all times in which the facility is in operation) any facilities, equipment (including monitoring and air pollution control equipment), practices, or operations regulated or required under the permit;
 - d. Sample or monitor at reasonable times substances or parameters to determine compliance with the permit or applicable requirements or ascertain the amounts and types of air pollutants discharged.

[45CSR§30-5.3.b.]

2.15. Schedule of Compliance

- 2.15.1. For sources subject to a compliance schedule, certified progress reports shall be submitted consistent with the applicable schedule of compliance set forth in this permit and 45CSR§30-4.3.h., but at least every six (6) months, and no greater than once a month, and shall include the following:
 - a. Dates for achieving the activities, milestones, or compliance required in the schedule of compliance, and dates when such activities, milestones or compliance were achieved; and
 - b. An explanation of why any dates in the schedule of compliance were not or will not be met, and any preventative or corrective measure adopted.

[45CSR§30-5.3.d.]

2.16. Need to Halt or Reduce Activity not a Defense

2.16.1. It shall not be a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in order to maintain compliance with the conditions of this permit. However, nothing in this paragraph shall be construed as precluding consideration of a need to halt or reduce activity as a mitigating factor in determining penalties for noncompliance if the health, safety, or environmental impacts of halting or reducing operations would be more serious than the impacts of continued operations. [45CSR§30-5.1.f.2.]

2.17. Reserved

2.18. Federally-Enforceable Requirements

- 2.18.1. All terms and conditions in this permit, including any provisions designed to limit a source's potential to emit and excepting those provisions that are specifically designated in the permit as "State-enforceable only", are enforceable by the Secretary, USEPA, and citizens under the Clean Air Act.

 [45CSR§30-5.2.a.]
- 2.18.2. Those provisions specifically designated in the permit as "State-enforceable only" shall become "Federally-enforceable" requirements upon SIP approval by the USEPA.

2.19. Duty to Provide Information

2.19.1. The permittee shall furnish to the Secretary within a reasonable time any information the Secretary may request in writing to determine whether cause exists for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating the permit or to determine compliance with the permit. Upon request, the permittee shall also furnish to the Secretary copies of records required to be kept by the permittee. For information claimed to be confidential, the permittee shall furnish such records to the Secretary along with a claim of confidentiality in accordance with 45CSR31. If confidential information is to be sent to USEPA, the permittee shall directly provide such information to USEPA along with a claim of confidentiality in accordance with 40 C.F.R. Part 2.

[45CSR§30-5.1.f.5.]

2.20. Duty to Supplement and Correct Information

2.20.1. Upon becoming aware of a failure to submit any relevant facts or a submittal of incorrect information in any permit application, the permittee shall promptly submit to the Secretary such supplemental facts or corrected information.

[45CSR§30-4.2.]

2.21. Permit Shield

- 2.21.1. Compliance with the conditions of this permit shall be deemed compliance with any applicable requirements as of the date of permit issuance provided that such applicable requirements are included and are specifically identified in this permit or the Secretary has determined that other requirements specifically identified are not applicable to the source and this permit includes such a determination or a concise summary thereof. [45CSR\$30-5.6.a.]
- 2.21.2. Nothing in this permit shall alter or affect the following:
 - a. The liability of an owner or operator of a source for any violation of applicable requirements prior to or at the time of permit issuance; or
 - b. The applicable requirements of the Code of West Virginia and Title IV of the Clean Air Act (Acid Deposition Control), consistent with § 408 (a) of the Clean Air Act.
 - c. The authority of the Administrator of U.S. EPA to require information under § 114 of the Clean Air Act or to issue emergency orders under § 303 of the Clean Air Act.

[45CSR§30-5.6.c.]

2.22. Credible Evidence

2.22.1. Nothing in this permit shall alter or affect the ability of any person to establish compliance with, or a violation of, any applicable requirement through the use of credible evidence to the extent authorized by law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to waive any defenses otherwise available to the permittee including but not limited to any challenge to the credible evidence rule in the context of any future proceeding.

[45CSR§30-5.3.e.3.B.]

2.23. Severability

2.23.1. The provisions of this permit are severable. If any provision of this permit, or the application of any provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction, the remaining permit terms and conditions or their application to other circumstances shall remain in full force and effect. [45CSR§30-5.1.e.]

2.24. Property Rights

2.24.1. This permit does not convey any property rights of any sort or any exclusive privilege. [45CSR§30-5.1.f.4]

2.25. Acid Deposition Control

- 2.25.1. Emissions shall not exceed any allowances that the source lawfully holds under Title IV of the Clean Air Act (Acid Deposition Control) or rules of the Secretary promulgated thereunder.
 - a. No permit revision shall be required for increases in emissions that are authorized by allowances acquired pursuant to the acid deposition control program, provided that such increases do not require a permit revision under any other applicable requirement.
 - b. No limit shall be placed on the number of allowances held by the source. The source may not, however, use allowances as a defense to noncompliance with any other applicable requirement.
 - c. Any such allowance shall be accounted for according to the procedures established in rules promulgated under Title IV of the Clean Air Act.

[45CSR§30-5.1.d.]

2.25.2. Where applicable requirements of the Clean Air Act are more stringent than any applicable requirement of regulations promulgated under Title IV of the Clean Air Act (Acid Deposition Control), both provisions shall be incorporated into the permit and shall be enforceable by the Secretary and U. S. EPA. [45CSR§30-5.1.a.2.]

3.0 Facility-Wide Requirements

3.1. Limitations and Standards

- 3.1.1. **Open burning.** The open burning of refuse by any person is prohibited except as noted in 45CSR§6-3.1. [45CSR§6-3.1.]
- 3.1.2. **Open burning exemptions.** The exemptions listed in 45CSR§6-3.1 are subject to the following stipulation: Upon notification by the Secretary, no person shall cause or allow any form of open burning during existing or predicted periods of atmospheric stagnation. Notification shall be made by such means as the Secretary may deem necessary and feasible.

[45CSR§6-3.2.]

3.1.3. **Asbestos.** The permittee is responsible for thoroughly inspecting the facility, or part of the facility, prior to commencement of demolition or renovation for the presence of asbestos and complying with 40 C.F.R. § 61.145, 40 C.F.R. § 61.148, and 40 C.F.R. § 61.150. The permittee, owner, or operator must notify the Secretary at least ten (10) working days prior to the commencement of any asbestos removal on the forms prescribed by the Secretary if the permittee is subject to the notification requirements of 40 C.F.R. § 61.145(b)(3)(i). The USEPA, the Division of Waste Management and the Bureau for Public Health - Environmental Health require a copy of this notice to be sent to them.

[40 C.F.R. §61.145(b) and 45CSR34]

3.1.4. **Odor.** No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit the discharge of air pollutants which cause or contribute to an objectionable odor at any location occupied by the public.

[45CSR§4-3.1 State-Enforceable only.]

3.1.5. **Standby plan for reducing emissions.** When requested by the Secretary, the permittee shall prepare standby plans for reducing the emissions of air pollutants in accordance with the objectives set forth in Tables I, II, and III of 45CSR11.

[45CSR§11-5.2]

3.1.6. **Emission inventory.** The permittee is responsible for submitting, on an annual basis, an emission inventory in accordance with the submittal requirements of the Division of Air Quality.

[W.Va. Code § 22-5-4(a)(15)]

- 3.1.7. **Ozone-depleting substances.** For those facilities performing maintenance, service, repair or disposal of appliances, the permittee shall comply with the standards for recycling and emissions reduction pursuant to 40 C.F.R. Part 82, Subpart F, except as provided for Motor Vehicle Air Conditioners (MVACs) in Subpart B:
 - a. Persons opening appliances for maintenance, service, repair, or disposal must comply with the prohibitions and required practices pursuant to 40 C.F.R. §§ 82.154 and 82.156.
 - b. Equipment used during the maintenance, service, repair, or disposal of appliances must comply with the standards for recycling and recovery equipment pursuant to 40 C.F.R. § 82.158.

c. Persons performing maintenance, service, repair, or disposal of appliances must be certified by an approved technician certification program pursuant to 40 C.F.R. § 82.161.

[40 C.F.R. 82, Subpart F]

3.1.8. **Risk Management Plan.** This stationary source, as defined in 40 C.F.R. § 68.3, is subject to Part 68. This stationary source shall submit a risk management plan (RMP) by the date specified in 40 C.F.R. Part 68.10. This stationary source shall certify compliance with the requirements of Part 68 as part of the annual compliance certification as required by 40 C.F.R. Part 70 or 71.

[40 C.F.R. 68]

3.1.9. No person shall cause, suffer, allow or permit fugitive particulate matter to be discharged beyond the boundary lines of the property on which the discharge originates or at any public or residential location, which causes or contributes to statutory air pollution.

[45CSR\$17-3.1.]

3.2. Monitoring Requirements

3.2.1. N/A

3.3. Testing Requirements

- 3.3.1. **Stack testing.** As per provisions set forth in this permit or as otherwise required by the Secretary, in accordance with the West Virginia Code, underlying regulations, permits and orders, the permittee shall conduct test(s) to determine compliance with the emission limitations set forth in this permit and/or established or set forth in underlying documents. The Secretary, or his duly authorized representative, may at his option witness or conduct such test(s). Should the Secretary exercise his option to conduct such test(s), the operator shall provide all necessary sampling connections and sampling ports to be located in such manner as the Secretary may require, power for test equipment and the required safety equipment, such as scaffolding, railings and ladders, to comply with generally accepted good safety practices. Such tests shall be conducted in accordance with the methods and procedures set forth in this permit or as otherwise approved or specified by the Secretary in accordance with the following:
 - a. The Secretary may on a source-specific basis approve or specify additional testing or alternative testing to the test methods specified in the permit for demonstrating compliance with 40 C.F.R. Parts 60, 61, and 63, if applicable, in accordance with the Secretary's delegated authority and any established equivalency determination methods which are applicable.
 - b. The Secretary may on a source-specific basis approve or specify additional testing or alternative testing to the test methods specified in the permit for demonstrating compliance with applicable requirements which do not involve federal delegation. In specifying or approving such alternative testing to the test methods, the Secretary, to the extent possible, shall utilize the same equivalency criteria as would be used in approving such changes under Section 3.3.1.a. of this permit. If a testing method is specified or approved which effectively replaces a test method specified in the permit, the permit shall be revised in accordance with 45CSR§30-6.4 or 45CSR§30-6.5 as applicable.
 - c. All periodic tests to determine mass emission limits from or air pollutant concentrations in discharge stacks and such other tests as specified in this permit shall be conducted in accordance with an approved test protocol. Unless previously approved, such protocols shall be submitted to the Secretary in writing

at least thirty (30) days prior to any testing and shall contain the information set forth by the Secretary. In addition, the permittee shall notify the Secretary at least fifteen (15) days prior to any testing so the Secretary may have the opportunity to observe such tests. This notification shall include the actual date and time during which the test will be conducted and, if appropriate, verification that the tests will fully conform to a referenced protocol previously approved by the Secretary.

- d. The permittee shall submit a report of the results of the stack test within 60 days of completion of the test. The test report shall provide the information necessary to document the objectives of the test and to determine whether proper procedures were used to accomplish these objectives. The report shall include the following: the certification described in paragraph 3.5.1; a statement of compliance status, also signed by a responsible official; and, a summary of conditions which form the basis for the compliance status evaluation. The summary of conditions shall include the following:
 - 1. The permit or rule evaluated, with the citation number and language.
 - 2. The result of the test for each permit or rule condition.
 - 3. A statement of compliance or non-compliance with each permit or rule condition.

[WV Code §§ 22-5-4(a)(15-16) and 45CSR13]

3.4. Recordkeeping Requirements

- 3.4.1. **Monitoring information.** The permittee shall keep records of monitoring information that include the following:
 - a. The date, place as defined in this permit and time of sampling or measurements;
 - b. The date(s) analyses were performed;
 - c. The company or entity that performed the analyses;
 - d. The analytical techniques or methods used;
 - e. The results of the analyses; and
 - f. The operating conditions existing at the time of sampling or measurement.

[45CSR§30-5.1.c.2.A.]

3.4.2. **Retention of records.** The permittee shall retain records of all required monitoring data and support information for a period of at least five (5) years from the date of monitoring sample, measurement, report, application, or record creation date. Support information includes all calibration and maintenance records and all original strip-chart recordings for continuous monitoring instrumentation, and copies of all reports required by the permit. Where appropriate, records may be maintained in computerized form in lieu of the above records.

[45CSR§30-5.1.c.2.B.]

3.4.3. **Odors.** For the purposes of 45CSR4, the permittee shall maintain a record of all odor complaints received, any investigation performed in response to such a complaint, and any responsive action(s) taken. **[45CSR§30-5.1.c. State-Enforceable only.]**

3.5. Reporting Requirements

3.5.1. **Responsible official.** Any application form, report, or compliance certification required by this permit to be submitted to the DAQ and/or USEPA shall contain a certification by the responsible official that states that, based on information and belief formed after reasonable inquiry, the statements and information in the document are true, accurate and complete.

[45CSR§§30-4.4. and 5.1.c.3.D.]

- 3.5.2. A permittee may request confidential treatment for the submission of reporting required under 45CSR§30-5.1.c.3. pursuant to the limitations and procedures of W.Va. Code § 22-5-10 and 45CSR31. [45CSR§30-5.1.c.3.E.]
- 3.5.3. Except for the electronic submittal of the annual compliance certification and semi-annual monitoring reports to the DAQ and USEPA as required in 3.5.5 and 3.5.6 below, all notices, requests, demands, submissions and other communications required or permitted to be made to the Secretary of DEP and/or USEPA shall be made in writing and shall be deemed to have been duly given when delivered by hand, or mailed first class or by private carrier with postage prepaid to the address(es), or submitted in electronic format by e-mail as set forth below or to such other person or address as the Secretary of the Department of Environmental Protection may designate:

DAQ: US EPA:

Director Section Chief

WVDEP U. S. Environmental Protection Agency, Region III

Division of Air Quality Enforcement and Compliance Assurance Division

601 57th Street SE Air, RCRA and Toxics Branch (3ED21)

Charleston, WV 25304 Four Penn Center

1600 John F. Kennedy Boulevard Philadelphia, PA 19103-2852

DAQ Compliance and Enforcement¹:

DEPAirQualityReports@wv.gov

¹For all self-monitoring reports (MACT, GACT, NSPS, etc.), stack tests and protocols, Notice of Compliance Status reports, Initial Notifications, etc.

- 3.5.4. **Fees.** The permittee shall pay fees on an annual basis in accordance with 45CSR§30-8. **[45CSR§30-8.]**
- 3.5.5. **Compliance certification.** The permittee shall certify compliance with the conditions of this permit on the forms provided by the DAQ. In addition to the annual compliance certification, the permittee may be required to submit certifications more frequently under an applicable requirement of this permit. The annual certification shall be submitted to the DAQ and USEPA on or before March 15 of each year, and shall certify compliance for the period ending December 31. The permittee shall maintain a copy of the certification on

site for five (5) years from submittal of the certification. The annual certification shall be submitted in electronic format by e-mail to the following addresses:

DAQ: US EPA:

DEPAirQualityReports@wv.gov R3_APD_Permits@epa.gov

[45CSR§30-5.3.e.]

3.5.6. **Semi-annual monitoring reports.** The permittee shall submit reports of any required monitoring on or before September 15 for the reporting period January 1 to June 30 and on or before March 15 for the reporting period July 1 to December 31. All instances of deviation from permit requirements must be clearly identified in such reports. All required reports must be certified by a responsible official consistent with 45CSR§30-4.4. The semi-annual monitoring reports shall be submitted in electronic format by e-mail to the following address:

DAO:

DEPAirQualityReports@wv.gov

[45CSR§30-5.1.c.3.A.]

3.5.7. Reserved.

3.5.8. **Deviations.**

- a. In addition to monitoring reports required by this permit, the permittee shall promptly submit supplemental reports and notices in accordance with the following:
 - 1. Reserved.
 - 2. Any deviation that poses an imminent and substantial danger to public health, safety, or the environment shall be reported to the Secretary immediately by telephone or email. A written report of such deviation, which shall include the probable cause of such deviation, and any corrective actions or preventative measures taken, shall be submitted by the responsible official within ten (10) days of the deviation.
 - 3. Deviations for which more frequent reporting is required under this permit shall be reported on the more frequent basis.
 - 4. All reports of deviations shall identify the probable cause of the deviation and any corrective actions or preventative measures taken.

[45CSR§30-5.1.c.3.C.]

b. The permittee shall, in the reporting of deviations from permit requirements, including those attributable to upset conditions as defined in this permit, report the probable cause of such deviations and any corrective actions or preventive measures taken in accordance with any rules of the Secretary.

[45CSR§30-5.1.c.3.B.]

3.5.9. **New applicable requirements.** If any applicable requirement is promulgated during the term of this permit, the permittee will meet such requirements on a timely basis, or in accordance with a more detailed schedule if required by the applicable requirement.

[45CSR§30-4.3.h.1.B.]

3.6. Compliance Plan

3.6.1. N/A

3.7. Permit Shield

- 3.7.1. The permittee is hereby granted a permit shield in accordance with 45CSR§30-5.6. The permit shield applies provided the permittee operates in accordance with the information contained within this permit.
- 3.7.2. The following requirements specifically identified are not applicable to the source based on the determinations set forth below. The permit shield shall apply to the following requirements provided the conditions of the determinations are met.
 - a. 45CSR7—This rule does not apply since this facility does not emit smoke, particulate matter, or other gaseous matter. Also, this facility does not meet the definition of a manufacturing process in 45CSR§7-2.20.
 - b. 45CSR21—The only potentially applicable sections of this regulation are 45CSR§21-26 for Leaks from Petroleum Refinery Equipment and 45CSR§21-40 for Other Facilities that Emit Volatile Organic Compounds. The propane cavern does not meet the definition of a petroleum refinery in 45CSR§21-2.54, since this facility is not engaged in producing gasoline, kerosene, distillate fuel oils, residual fuel oils, lubricants, or other products through distillation of petroleum or through the redistillation, cracking, or reforming of unfinished petroleum derivatives; so 45CSR§21-26 does not apply. The propane cavern's aggregate maximum theoretical VOC emissions are below 100 TPY, so 45CSR§21-40 does not apply.
 - c. 45CSR27—This facility does not meet the definition of "chemical processing unit" in 45CSR§27-2.4 since the propane stored in the cavern is below 5% benzene by weight, thus this rule does not apply.
 - d. 40 CFR Part 64 The facility did not have any pollutant specific emissions units (PSEUs) that satisfied all of the applicability criteria requirements of 40 CFR §64.2(a). There have been no emission units added to this permit since the previous renewal was issued, so CAM remains not applicable to any emission unit listed in the renewal application.

4.0 Propane Cavern Fugitive Emissions (associated with HF Alky Unit) [emission point ID(s): 1E]

4.1. Limitations and Standards

4.1.1. The permittee shall comply with the requirements of 40 C.F.R. §§ 60.482-1a to 60.482-10a as soon as practicable, but no later than 180 days after initial startup.

[40 C.F.R. §60.592a(a) and 45CSR16]

- 4.1.2. For a given process unit, the permittee may elect to comply with the following requirements as an alternative to the requirements in 40 C.F.R. §60.482-7a:
 - a. Comply with 40 C.F.R. §60.483-1a.
 - b. Comply with 40 C.F.R. §60.483-2a.
 - c. Comply with the Phase III provisions in § 63.168, except the permittee may elect to follow the provisions in 40 C.F.R. §60.482-7a(f) instead of 40 C.F.R. §63.168 for any valve that is designated as being leakless.

[40 C.F.R. §60.592a(b) and 45CSR16]

- 4.1.3. Equipment that the permittee designates as being in VOC service less than 300 hr/yr is excluded from the requirements of 40 C.F.R. §§60.482-2a through 60.482-11a if it is identified as required in 40 C.F.R. §60.486a(e)(6) and it meets any of the following conditions:
 - a. The equipment is in VOC service only during startup and shutdown, excluding startup and shutdown between batches of the same campaign for a batch process.
 - b. The equipment is in VOC service only during process malfunctions or other emergencies.
 - The equipment is backup equipment that is in VOC service only when the primary equipment is out of service.

[40 C.F.R. §60.482-1a(e) and 45CSR16]

4.1.4. Each open-ended valve or line shall be equipped with a cap, blind flange, plug, or a second valve, except as provided in 40 C.F.R. §60.482-1a(c) and conditions 4.1.8 and 4.1.9.

[40 C.F.R. §60.482-6a(a)(1) and 45CSR16]

4.1.5. The cap, blind flange, plug, or second valve shall seal the open end at all times except during operations requiring process fluid flow through the open-ended valve or line.

[40 C.F.R. §60.482-6a(a)(2) and 45CSR16]

4.1.6. Each open-ended valve or line equipped with a second valve shall be operated in a manner such that the valve on the process fluid end is closed before the second valve is closed.

[40 C.F.R. §60.482-6a(b) and 45CSR16]

4.1.7. When a double block-and-bleed system is being used, the bleed valve or line may remain open during operations that require venting the line between the block valves but shall comply with conditions 4.1.4 and 4.1.5 at all other times.

[40 C.F.R. §60.482-6a(c) and 45CSR16]

4.1.8. Open-ended valves or lines in an emergency shutdown system which are designed to open automatically in the event of a process upset are exempt from the requirements of conditions 4.1.4-4.1.7.

[40 C.F.R. §60.482-6a(d) and 45CSR16]

4.1.9. Open-ended valves or lines containing materials which would autocatalytically polymerize or would present an explosion, serious overpressure, or other safety hazard if capped or equipped with a double block and bleed system as specified in conditions 4.1.4-4.1.7 are exempt from the requirements of conditions 4.1.4-4.1.7.

[40 C.F.R. §60.482-6a(e) and 45CSR16]

4.1.10. Delay of repair of equipment will be allowed for equipment which is isolated from the process and which does not remain in VOC service.

[40 C.F.R. §60.482-9a(b) and 45CSR16]

- 4.1.11. Delay of repair for valves and connectors will be allowed if:
 - a. The permittee demonstrates that emissions of purged material resulting from immediate repair are greater than the fugitive emissions likely to result from delay of repair, and
 - b. When repair procedures are effected, the purged material is collected and destroyed or recovered in a control device complying with 40 C.F.R. §60.482-10a.

[40 C.F.R. §60.482-9a(c) and 45CSR16]

4.1.12. Delay of repair beyond a process unit shutdown will be allowed for a valve, if valve assembly replacement is necessary during the process unit shutdown, valve assembly supplies have been depleted, and valve assembly supplies had been sufficiently stocked before the supplies were depleted. Delay of repair beyond the next process unit shutdown will not be allowed unless the next process unit shutdown occurs sooner than 6 months after the first process unit shutdown.

[40 C.F.R. §60.482-9a(e) and 45CSR16]

4.1.13. When delay of repair is allowed for a leaking pump, valve, or connector that remains in service, the pump, valve, or connector may be considered to be repaired and no longer subject to delay of repair requirements if two consecutive monthly monitoring instrument readings are below the leak definition.

[40 C.F.R. §60.482-9a(f) and 45CSR16]

4.1.14. Any pressure relief device that is routed to a process or fuel gas system or equipped with a closed vent system capable of capturing and transporting leakage through the pressure relief device to a control device as described in 40 C.F.R. §§60.482–10a is exempted from the requirements of 40 C.F.R. §§60.482–4a(a) and (b).

[40 C.F.R. §60.482-4a(c) and 45CSR16]

4.1.15. Each sampling connection system shall be equipped with a closed-vent system, except as provided in 40 C.F.R. §60.482–1a(c) and 40 C.F.R. §60.482–5a (c). Gases displaced during filling of the sample container are not required to be collected or captured. Each closed-vent system shall be designed and operated to capture and transport all the purged process fluid to a control device that complies with the requirements of 40 C.F.R. §60.482–10a.

[40 C.F.R. §§60.482-5a(a)-(b) and 45CSR16]

4.1.16. Connectors in gas/vapor or light liquid service are exempt from the requirements in 40 C.F.R. §60.482-11a, provided the permittee complies with 40 C.F.R. §60.482-8a for all connectors, not just those in heavy liquid service.

[40 C.F.R. §60.593a(g) and 45CSR16]

4.2. Monitoring Requirements

- 4.2.1. Each valve shall be monitored monthly to detect leaks by the methods specified in 40 C.F.R. §60.485a(b) and shall comply with 40 C.F.R. §860.482-7a(b) through (e) according to paragraphs (a) through (d) below, except as provided in 40 C.F.R. §860.482-7a(f), (g), and (h), 40 C.F.R. §860.482-1a(c) and (f), 40 C.F.R.§60.483-1a, and 40 C.F.R.§60.483-2a.
 - a. If an instrument reading of 500 ppm or greater is measured, a leak is detected.
 - b. Any valve for which a leak is not detected for 2 successive months may be monitored the first month of every quarter, beginning with the next quarter, until a leak is detected. As an alternative to monitoring all of the valves in the first month of a quarter, an owner or operator may elect to subdivide the process unit into two or three subgroups of valves and monitor each subgroup in a different month during the quarter, provided each subgroup is monitored every 3 months. The owner or operator must keep records of the valves assigned to each subgroup. If a leak is detected, the valve shall be monitored monthly until a leak is not detected for 2 successive months.
 - c. When a leak is detected, it shall be repaired as soon as practicable, but no later than 15 calendar days after the leak is detected, except as provided in 40 C.F.R. §§60.482–9a. A first attempt at repair shall be made no later than 5 calendar days after each leak is detected.
 - d. First attempts at repair include, but are not limited to, the following best practices where practicable:
 - 1. Tightening of bonnet bolts;
 - 2. Replacement of bonnet bolts;
 - 3. Tightening of packing gland nuts;
 - 4. Injection of lubricant into lubricated packing.

[40 C.F.R. §§60.482-7a(a)(1), (b), (c), (d), and (e) and 45CSR16]

- 4.2.2. A valve that begins operation in gas/vapor service or light liquid service after the initial startup date for the process unit must be monitored according to paragraphs (a) or (b), except for a valve that replaces a leaking valve and except as provided in 40 C.F.R. §§60.482-7a(f), (g), and (h), 40 C.F.R. §60.482-1a(c), 40 C.F.R. §60.483-1a, and 40 C.F.R. §60.483-2a.
 - a. Monitor the valve as in condition 4.2.1. The valve must be monitored for the first time within 30 days after the end of its startup period to ensure proper installation.
 - b. If the existing valves in the process unit are monitored in accordance with 40 C.F.R. §60.483-1a or 40 C.F.R.§60.483-2a, count the new valve as leaking when calculating the percentage of valves leaking as described in 40 C.F.R.§60.483-2a(b)(5). If less than 2.0 percent of the valves are leaking for that process unit, the valve must be monitored for the first time during the next scheduled monitoring event for existing valves in the process unit or within 90 days, whichever comes first.

[40 C.F.R. §60.482-7a(a)(2) and 45CSR16]

4.2.3. Delay of repair of equipment for which leaks have been detected will be allowed if repair within 15 days is technically infeasible without a process unit shutdown. Repair of this equipment shall occur before the end of the next process unit shutdown. Monitoring to verify repair must occur within 15 days after startup of the process unit.

[40 C.F.R. §60.482-9a(a) and 45CSR16]

- 4.2.4. If evidence of a potential leak is found by visual, audible, olfactory, or any other detection method at pumps, valves, and connectors in heavy liquid service and pressure relief devices in light liquid or heavy liquid service, the owner or operator shall follow either one of the following procedures:
 - a. The permittee shall monitor the equipment within 5 days by the method specified in 40 C.F.R. §60.485a(b) and shall comply with 40 C.F.R. §60.482-8a(b) through (d).
 - b. The permittee shall eliminate the visual, audible, olfactory, or other indication of a potential leak within 5 calendar days of detection.

[40 C.F.R. §60.482-8a(a); and 45CSR16]

4.3. Testing Requirements

4.3.1. The permittee shall comply with the provisions of 40 C.F.R. §60.485a, except as provided in 40 C.F.R. §60.593a.

[40 C.F.R. §60.592a(d) and 45CSR16]

4.4. Recordkeeping Requirements

4.4.1. The permittee shall comply with the provisions of 40 C.F.R. §60.486a. **[40 C.F.R. §60.592a(e) and 45CSR16]**

4.5. Reporting Requirements

4.5.1. The permittee shall comply with the provisions of 40 C.F.R. §60.487a. [40 C.F.R. §60.592a(e) and 45CSR16]

4.6. Compliance Plan

4.6.1. N/A

5.0 Firewater Pump Diesel Engine [Emission point ID(s): 2E]

5.1. Limitations and Standards

- 5.1.1. If you are an owner or operator and must comply with the emission standards specified in 40 C.F.R. 60, Subpart IIII, you must do the following, except as permitted under 40 C.F.R. §60.4211(g):
 - a. Operate and maintain the stationary CI internal combustion engine and control device according to the manufacturer's emission-related written instructions;
 - b. Change only those emission-related settings that are permitted by the manufacturer; and
 - c. Meet the requirements of 40 CFR Part 1068, as they apply to you.

[40 C.F.R. §60.4211(a) and 45CSR16]

5.1.2. Maximum hourly emissions limits based on Table 4 of 40 C.F.R. 60, Subpart IIII as specified in 40 C.F.R. §60.4205(c) are specified in the following table:

Pollutant	Lb/hr¹
Volatile Organic Compounds (VOC) +	0.73
Nitrogen Oxides (NOx)	
Particulate Matter (PM)	0.06
Carbon Monoxide (CO)	0.77

¹Based on 3.5 g/HP-hr for NMHC+NOx, 0.30 g/HP-hr for PM, 3.7 g/HP-hr for CO, and 95 HP-hr

Owners and operators of stationary CI ICE must operate and maintain stationary CI ICE that achieve the emission standards as required in §60.4205 over the entire life of the engine.

[40 C.F.R. §60.4205(c), 40 C.F.R. §60.4206 and 45CSR16]

5.1.3. If you are an owner or operator of a CI fire pump engine that is manufactured during or after the model year that applies to your fire pump engine power rating in table 3 to this subpart and must comply with the emission standards specified in § 60.4205(c), you must comply by purchasing an engine certified to the emission standards in § 60.4204(b), or § 60.4205(b) or (c), as applicable, for the same model year and maximum (or in the case of fire pumps, NFPA nameplate) engine power. The engine must be installed and configured according to the manufacturer's emission-related specifications, except as permitted in 40 C.F.R. §60.4211(g).

[40 C.F.R. §60.4211(c) and 45CSR16]

5.1.4. Beginning October 1, 2010, the permittee with stationary CI ICE with a displacement of less than 30 liters per cylinder that use diesel fuel must use diesel fuel that meets the requirements of 40 CFR 1090.305 for nonroad diesel fuel, except that any existing diesel fuel purchased (or otherwise obtained) prior to October 1, 2010, may be used until depleted.

[40 C.F.R. §60.4207(b) and 45CSR16]

5.1.5. The emergency stationary ICE must be operated according to the requirements in 40 C.F.R. §60.4211(f)(1) through (3). In order for the engine to be considered an emergency stationary ICE under 40 C.F.R. 60, Subpart IIII, any operation other than emergency operation, maintenance and testing, and operation in non-

emergency situations for 50 hours per year, as described in 40 C.F.R. §§60.4211(f)(1) through (3), is prohibited. If the engine is not operated according to the requirements in 40 C.F.R. §60.4211(f)(1) through (3), the engine will not be considered an emergency engine under 40 C.F.R. 60, Subpart IIII and must meet all requirements for non-emergency engines.

- a. There is no time limit on the use of emergency stationary ICE in emergency situations.
- b. The emergency stationary ICE may be operated for the purpose specified in 40 C.F.R. §60.4211(f)(2)(i) for a maximum of 100 hours per calendar year. Any operation for non-emergency situations as allowed by 40 C.F.R. §60.4211(f)(3) counts as part of the 100 hours per calendar year allowed by 40 C.F.R §60.4211(f)(2).
 - 1. Emergency stationary ICE may be operated for maintenance checks and readiness testing, provided that the tests are recommended by federal, state or local government, the manufacturer, the vendor, the regional transmission organization or equivalent balancing authority and transmission operator, or the insurance company associated with the engine. The permittee may petition the Administrator for approval of additional hours to be used for maintenance checks and readiness testing, but a petition is not required if the permittee maintains records indicating that federal, state, or local standards require maintenance and testing of emergency ICE beyond 100 hours per calendar year.
- c. Emergency stationary ICE may be operated for up to 50 hours per calendar year in non-emergency situations. The 50 hours of operation in non-emergency situations are counted as part of the 100 hours per calendar year for maintenance and testing provided in 40 C.F.R. §60.4211(f)(2). Except as provided in 40 C.F.R. §60.4211(f)(3)(i), the 50 hours per calendar year for non-emergency situations cannot be used for peak shaving or non-emergency demand response, or to generate income for a facility to an electric grid or otherwise supply power as part of a financial arrangement with another entity.
 - 1. The 50 hours per year for non-emergency situations can be used to supply power as part of a financial arrangement with another entity if all of the following conditions are met:
 - A. The engine is dispatched by the local balancing authority or local transmission and distribution system operator;
 - B. The dispatch is intended to mitigate local transmission and/or distribution limitations so as to avert potential voltage collapse or line overloads that could lead to the interruption of power supply in a local area or region.
 - C. The dispatch follows reliability, emergency operation or similar protocols that follow specific NERC, regional, state, public utility commission or local standards or guidelines.
 - D. The power is provided only to the facility itself or to support the local transmission and distribution system.
 - E. The permittee identifies and records the entity that dispatches the engine and the specific NERC, regional, state, public utility commission or local standards or guidelines that are being followed for dispatching the engine. The local balancing authority or local transmission and distribution system operator may keep these records on behalf of the permittee.

[40 C.F.R. §60.4211(f) and 45CSR16]

5.1.6. If you do not install, configure, operate, and maintain your engine and control device according to the manufacturer's emission-related written instructions, or you change emission-related settings in a way that is not permitted by the manufacturer, you must demonstrate compliance as follows:

If you are an owner or operator of a stationary CI internal combustion engine with maximum engine power less than 100 HP, you must keep a maintenance plan and records of conducted maintenance to demonstrate compliance and must, to the extent practicable, maintain and operate the engine in a manner consistent with good air pollution control practice for minimizing emissions. In addition, if you do not install and configure the engine and control device according to the manufacturer's emission-related written instructions, or you change the emission-related settings in a way that is not permitted by the manufacturer, you must conduct an initial performance test to demonstrate compliance with the applicable emission standards within 1 year of such action

[40 C.F.R. §60.4211(g)(1) and 45CSR16]

5.1.7. If you are the owner or operator of an emergency stationary CI internal combustion engine that does not meet the standards applicable to non-emergency engines, you must install a non-resettable hour meter prior to startup of the engine.

[40 C.F.R. §60.4209(a) and 45CSR16]

5.1.8. In addition to the requirements specified in §§ 60.4201, 60.4202, 60.4204, and 60.4205, it is prohibited to import stationary CI ICE with a displacement of less than 30 liters per cylinder that do not meet the applicable requirements specified in 40 C.F.R. §§60.4208(a) through (g) after the dates specified in 40 C.F.R. §§60.4208 (a) through (g).

The requirements of this section do not apply to owners or operators of stationary CI ICE that have been modified, reconstructed, and do not apply to engines that were removed from one existing location and reinstalled at a new location.

[40 C.F.R. §§60.4208(h)and(i), 45CSR16]

5.2. Monitoring Requirements

None

5.3. Testing Requirements

- 5.3.1. Owners and operators of stationary CI ICE with a displacement of less than 30 liters per cylinder who conduct performance tests pursuant to this subpart must do so according to paragraphs (a) through (e) of this section.
 - (a) The performance test must be conducted according to the in-use testing procedures in 40 CFR part 1039, subpart F, for stationary CI ICE with a displacement of less than 10 liters per cylinder, and according to 40 CFR part 1042, subpart F, for stationary CI ICE with a displacement of greater than or equal to 10 liters per cylinder and less than 30 liters per cylinder. Alternatively, stationary CI ICE that are complying with Tier 2 or Tier 3 emission standards as described in 40 CFR part 1039, appendix I, or with Tier 2 emission standards as described in 40 CFR part 1042, appendix I, may follow the testing procedures specified in § 60.4213, as appropriate.
 - (b) Exhaust emissions from stationary CI ICE that are complying with the emission standards for new CI engines in 40 CFR part 1039 must not exceed the not-to-exceed (NTE) standards for the same model year and maximum engine power as required in 40 CFR 1039.101(e) and 40 CFR 1039.102(g)(1), except as specified in 40 CFR 1039.104(d). This requirement starts when NTE requirements take effect for nonroad diesel engines under 40 CFR part 1039.
 - (c) Exhaust emissions from stationary CI ICE subject to Tier 2 or Tier 3 emission standards as described in 40 CFR part 1039, appendix I, or Tier 2 emission standards as described in 40 CFR part 1042,

appendix I, must not exceed the NTE numerical requirements, rounded to the same number of decimal places as the applicable standard, determined from the following equation:

NTE requirement for each pollutant = $(1.25) \times (STD)$ (Eq. 1)

Where:

STD = The standard specified for that pollutant in 40 CFR part 1039 or 1042, as applicable.

(d) Exhaust emissions from stationary CI ICE that are complying with the emission standards for pre-2007 model year engines in § 60.4204(a), § 60.4205(a), or § 60.4205(c) must not exceed the NTE numerical requirements, rounded to the same number of decimal places as the applicable standard in § 60.4204(a), § 60.4205(a), or § 60.4205(c), determined from the equation in paragraph (c) of this section.

Where:

STD = The standard specified for that pollutant in § 60.4204(a), § 60.4205(a), or § 60.4205(c).

Alternatively, stationary CI ICE that are complying with the emission standards for pre-2007 model year engines in § 60.4204(a), § 60.4205(a), or § 60.4205(c) may follow the testing procedures specified in § 60.4213, as appropriate.

(e) Exhaust emissions from stationary CI ICE that are complying with the emission standards for new CI engines in 40 CFR part 1042 must not exceed the NTE standards for the same model year and maximum engine power as required in 40 CFR 1042.101(c).

[40 C.F.R. §60.4212 and 45CSR16]

5.4. Recordkeeping Requirements

5.4.1. If the stationary CI internal combustion engine is an emergency stationary internal combustion engine, the owner or operator is not required to submit an initial notification. Starting with the model years in table 5 to this subpart, if the emergency engine does not meet the standards applicable to non-emergency engines in the applicable model year, the owner or operator must keep records of the operation of the engine in emergency and non-emergency service that are recorded through the non-resettable hour meter. The owner must record the time of operation of the engine and the reason the engine was in operation during that time. [40 C.F.R. §60.4214(b) and 45CSR16]

5.5. Reporting Requirements

None

5.6. Compliance Plan

None