Program Organization

Offices

The Office of Abandoned Mine Lands and Reclamation is headquartered in Charleston, WV with regional offices in Bridgeport and Fayetteville supporting the northern and southern districts, respectively.

Headquarters

Charleston Headquarters
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499
TTY/TTD: (304) 926-0489

Northern District

Bridgeport Office
101 Cambridge Place
Bridgeport, WV 26330
Phone: (304) 842-1900

Southern District

Fayetteville Office
1159 Nick Rahall Greenway
Fayetteville, WV 25840
Phone: (304) 574-4465

Northern District Counties

Barbour, Berkeley, Brooke, Dodridge, Gilmer, Grant, Jefferson, Hampshire, Hancock, Hardy, Harrison, Lewis, Marion, Marshall, Mineral, Morgan, Monongalia, Ohio, Pendelton, Pleasants, Preston, Randolph, Ritchie, Taylor, Tyler, Tucker, Upshur, Wirt, Wetzel, Wood

Southern District Counties

Braxton, Boone, Cabell, Calhoun, Clay, Fayette, Greenbrier, Jackson, Kanawha, Lincoln, Logan, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Putnam, Raleigh, Roane, Summers, Wayne, Webster, Wyoming

Map of West Virginia showing AML regions
AML District Map

Program Organization

Chief's Office

Casey Korbini, Acting Director
131A Peninsula Street
Wheeling, WV 26003
Phone: (304) 926-0499, x00099
Email: Casey.E.Korbini@wv.gov



Administration

Provides administrative support to management, facilitates media, and corresponds directly with the public. Lends additional support to AML Chief as required.

Administrative Services Assistant
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499


Construction

Provides construction monitoring and inspection on AML reclamation projects during construction period. Performs post-inspections and performs project maintenance as required.

Eric Simpson, Northern Regional Engineer
101 Cambridge Place
Bridgeport, WV 26330
Phone: (304) 848-2076
Email: Eric.Simpson@wv.gov


Chris Matkins, Southern Regional Engineer
1159 Nick Rahall Greenway
Fayetteville, WV 25840
Phone: (304) 574-4465 x1021042133
Email: Christopher.T.Matkins@wv.gov


Design

Staff selects & contracts design firms to prepare plans and specifications for AML reclamation projects.

Troy Schell, Northern Region Design Engineer
101 Cambridge Place
Bridgeport, WV 26330
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x82080
Email: Troy.H.Schell@wv.gov


Jonathan Holbert, Southern Region Design Engineer
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41182
Email: Jonathan.R.Holbert@wv.gov


Emergencies

Conducts all AML complaint investigations, and, in conjunction with the U.S. Office of Surface Mining, implements an expediated bidding process to complete AML emergency projects.

Report an AML Emergency or Complaint

Northern Region

Jeremy Ayers, Engineer
101 Cambridge Place
Bridgeport, WV 26330
Phone: (304) 842-1900 x43203
Email: Jeremy.D.Ayers@wv.gov

Southern Region

Patrick Murphy, Engineer
1149 Nick Rahall Greenway
Fayetteville, WV 2584
Phone: (304) 574-4465
Email: Patrick.M.Murphy@wv.gov


Planning

Prioritizes what sites should be reclaimed, determines if sites are eligible, and completes environmental assessments for each site.

Travis Parsons, Program Manager
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41185
Email: Travis.G.Parsons@wv.gov


Realty

Obtains right of entry agreements from all parties having an ownership interest in property affected by AML reclamation projects.

Malcolm Allison, Program Manager
101 Cambridge Place
Bridgeport, WV 26330
Phone: (304) 848-2078
Email: Malcolm.D.Allison@wv.gov


Waterlines

Conducts feasibility studies to determine source water impact percentage, and then administers waterline projects to mitigate and/or abate those source water impacts.

Roger Earle
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41183
Email: Roger.A.Earle@wv.gov

​​​​​