Air Permitting

The West Virginia Division of Air Quality's Permitting Section implements West Virginia's permit program established under the State's Air Pollution Control Act.

West Virginia's permit program includes review of applications, determination of permit applicability and issuance of permits for both minor and major sources. Minor sources are primarily permitted under the minor source rule found at 45CSR13. Major sources are primarily permitted under the new source review rules found at 45CSR14 and 45CSR19. Major sources are issued operating permits under the authority of 45CSR30 (Requirements for Operating Permits) which is the implementing rule of Title V of the 1990 Federal Clean Air Act Amendments.

Our goal is to set forth the procedures for obtaining a permit to construct, modify, relocate and operate a new stationary source; a temporary permit; a general permit registration; and, for filing notifications of changes not otherwise subject to permit requirements. All applications by any person must conform to the review procedures and conditions of the West Virginia Code as well as West Virginia permitting rules.

We strive to ensure that economic growth will occur in harmony with the preservation of existing clean air resources; to prevent the development of any new non-attainment problems; to protect the public health and welfare from any adverse effects which might occur even at air quality levels better than the West Virginia and National Ambient Air Quality Standards; and, to preserve, protect and enhance the air quality in areas of special natural, recreational, scenic and/or historic value.

  • NSPS Subpart Y or Subpart OOO
    • Date: May 10, 2011
    • Summary: Clarification of Permitting Requirements for Sources Subject to NSPS Subpart Y or Subpart OOO.

Contact Information

NSR Permitting

Bev McKeone, Program Manager
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41280
Email: Beverly.D.McKeone@wv.gov

Ed Andrews, Engineer
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41244
Email: Edward.S.Andrews@wv.gov

Jonathan Carney, Engineer
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41247
Email: jonathan.w.carney@wv.gov

Nicole Ernest, Secretary 2
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41256
Email: Nicole.D.Ernest@wv.gov

David Keatley, Engineer
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41268
Email: David.J.Keatley@wv.gov

Roy Kees, Engineer
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41269
Email: Roy.F.Kees@wv.gov

Joe Kessler, Engineer
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41217
Email: Joseph.R.Kessler@wv.gov

John Legg, Technical Analyst
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41275
Email: John.C.Legg@wv.gov

Lee Martin, Technical Analyst
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41276
Email: Thornton.E.Martin@wv.gov

Steve Pursley, Engineer
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41900
Email: Steven.R.Pursley@wv.gov

Dan Roberts, Engineer Trainee
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41902
Email: Daniel.P.Roberts@wv.gov

Tracy Rothwell, Engineer Associate
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41904
Email: W.Tracy.Rothwell@wv.gov

Jerry Williams, Engineer
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41913
Email: Jerry.Williams@wv.gov

Title V Permitting

Carrie McCumbers, Program Manager
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41278
Email: Carrie.McCumbers@wv.gov

Natalya Chertkovsky, Technical Analyst
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41250
Email: Natalya.V.Chertkovsky@wv.gov

Stephanie Mink, Secretary 2
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41281
Email: stephanie.r.mink@wv.gov

Nikki Moats, Engineer Trainee
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41282
Email: Nikki.B.Moats@wv.gov

Beena Modi, Technical Analyst
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41283
Email: Beena.J.Modi@wv.gov

Robert Mullins, Engineer Trainee
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41286
Email: Robert.A.Mullins@wv.gov

Fred Tipane, Technical Analyst
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41910
Email: Frederick.Tipane@wv.gov