Air Permitting

Overview

​The West Virginia Division of Air Quality's Permitting Section implements West Virginia's permit program established under the State's Air Pollution Control Act.

West Virginia's permit program includes review of applications, determination of permit applicability and issuance of permits for both minor and major sources. Minor sources are primarily permitted under the minor source rule found at 45CSR13. Major sources are primarily permitted under the new source review rules found at 45CSR14 and 45CSR19. Major sources are issued operating permits under the authority of 45CSR30 (Requirements for Operating Permits) which is the implementing rule of Title V of the 1990 Federal Clean Air Act Amendments.

Our goal is to set forth the procedures for obtaining a permit to construct, modify, relocate and operate a new stationary source; a temporary permit; a general permit registration; and, for filing notifications of changes not otherwise subject to permit requirements. All applications by any person must conform to the review procedures and conditions of the West Virginia Code as well as West Virginia permitting rules.

We strive to ensure that economic growth will occur in harmony with the preservation of existing clean air resources; to prevent the development of any new non-attainment problems; to protect the public health and welfare from any adverse effects which might occur even at air quality levels better than the West Virginia and National Ambient Air Quality Standards; and, to preserve, protect and enhance the air quality in areas of special natural, recreational, scenic and/or historic value.

Quick Links

Resources


Contact Us

NSR Permitting

Bev McKeone, Program Manager
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41280
Email: Beverly.D.McKeone@wv.gov

Ed Andrews, Engineer
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41244
Email: Edward.S.Andrews@wv.gov

Jonathan Carney, Engineer
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41247
Email: Jonathan.W.Carney@wv.gov

​Roy Kees, Engineer
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41269
Email: Roy.F.Kees@wv.gov


Joe Kessler, Engineer
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41217
Email: Joseph.R.Kessler@wv.gov

John Legg, Technical Analyst
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41275
Email: John.C.Legg@wv.gov

Lee Martin, Technical Analyst
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41276
Email: Thornton.E.Martin@wv.gov

Steve Pursley, Engineer
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41900
Email: Steven.R.Pursley@wv.gov


Tracy Rothwell, Engineer Associate
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41904
Email: W.Tracy.Rothwell@wv.gov

Jerry Williams, Engineer
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41913
Email: Jerry.Williams@wv.gov


Title V Permitting

Carrie McCumbers, Program Manager
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41278
Email: Carrie.McCumbers@wv.gov

Natalya Chertkovsky, Technical Analyst
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41250
Email: Natalya.V.Chertkovsky@wv.gov

Stephanie Mink, Environmental Resources Associate
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41281
Email: Stephanie.R.Mink@wv.gov

Nikki Moats, Engineer Trainee
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41282
Email: Nikki.B.Moats@wv.gov


Beena Modi, Technical Analyst
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41283
Email: Beena.J.Modi@wv.gov

Robert Mullins, Engineer Trainee
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41286
Email: Robert.A.Mullins@wv.gov

Dan Roberts, Technical Analyst
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41902
Email: Daniel.P.Roberts@wv.gov

Fred Tipane, Technical Analyst
WV Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Air Quality
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x41910
Email: Frederick.Tipane@wv.gov