An annual certification fee shall be assessed for all facilities that manage hazardous waste. Fee assessments are due
and payable to the division on the first day of October of each year. Fee assessment payments submitted after
November 15 of each calendar year are subject to a late charge of twenty-five percent of the fee assessed. Each
payment shall be accompanied by a completed Appendix I form.
The purpose of the fee is to pay for the West Virginia share of the cost of implementing the Hazardous Waste
Management Program (HWMP). The HWMP includes activities such as hazardous waste permitting, compliance assistance,
compliance inspections, spill response and cleanup oversight, illegal disposal complaints, civil and criminal
enforcement, waste minimization, and related activities.
The fee amount invoiced is based on information provided to DEP by you (the facility generating the hazardous waste)
or by someone acting on your behalf. If any information on your invoice is incorrect, including your generator
status, please provide the correct information when you return the completed form that accompanies the invoice.
One of the most common hazardous wastes generated in small businesses is solvent, most often used in parts cleaning
basins. Additional common hazardous wastes include paints, dry cleaning fluids, metals, acids, caustic wastes,
ignitable and reactive wastes.
To learn more about the fee, you may wish to read the WV Code Chapter 22, Article 18 - Hazardous Waste Management
Act. The State Rule Title 33 Series 24 details the procedures for the annual
certification fee. All persons
to Title 33, Series 24 shall annually pay the hazardous waste management fee in accordance with the following
- Treatment, Storage, and/or Disposal Facilities (TSD) - Permitted
- Large Quantity Generator (LQG) - Generates 1000 kg or greater, or 1 kg of acutely hazardous waste in a given
- $2,200 per facility or a maximum of $5,600 for multiple facilities owned by the same person, whichever is
- Small Quantity Generator (SQG) - Generates more than 100 kg, but less than 1000 kg, or no more than 1 kg of
acutely hazardous waste in a given month
- $500 per facility or a maximum of $5,000 for multiple facilities owned by the same person, whichever is
- Very Small Quantity Generator (VSQG) - Less than or equal to 100 kg/mo (220 lb/mo) of non-acute hazardous waste
For additional information, please contact:
Marjorie Skeens, Environmental Resources Specialist 3
West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Water and Waste Management
601 57th St. SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x43835