Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4s)

WV0116025 Extension Letter

Permit extended to February 11, 2024

  • Extension Letter

    In accordance with WV 47CSR10, this letter serves as an extension of WV/NPDES Water Pollution Control Permit No. WV0116025 until the 11th day of February 2024. By this time, the reissuance of the WV/NPDES General Permit Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems (MS4) should be completed and a new permit issued.​


Jeff Smith, Environmental Resource Specialist 3
West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection
Division of Water and Waste Management
601 57th Street, SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499 x43764

WV/NPDES General Permit Number WV0116025

  • Extended Filtration Memo

    The purpose of this Memorandum of Understanding is to clarify language in the WV MS4 general permit issues on June 22nd, 2009 that allows stormwater discharges to occur via underdrains in extended filtration facilities.

The reissued Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) General Permit was issued July 11, 2014 and becomes effective August 11, 2014. The MS4 General Permit covers stormwater discharges from small regulated urbanized areas as well as public institutions such as hospitals, universities, highways within urbanized areas, and prisons.

The regulatory definition of an MS4 (40 CFR 122.26(b)(8)) is "a conveyance or system of conveyances (including roads with drainage systems, municipal streets, catch basins, curbs, gutters, ditches, man-made channels, or storm drains):

  1. Owned or operated by a state, city, town, borough, county, parish, district, association, or other public body (created to or pursuant to state law)...including special districts under state law such as a sewer district, flood control district or drainage district, or similar entity, or an Indian tribe or an authorized Indian tribal organization, or a designated and approved management agency under section 208 of the Clean Water Act that discharges into waters of the United States.
  2. Designed or used for collecting or conveying stormwater.
  3. Which is not a combined sewer.
  4. Which is not part of a Publicly Owned Treatment Works (POTW) as defined at 40 CFR 122.2.

Municipalities and other entities that are regulated under the WV small MS4 general permit are required to develop and implement stormwater management programs. These stormwater managment programs include six measures that help to protect and restore water quality from polluted runoff.