West Virginia hands out Clean Community awards


Four West Virginia communities have been recognized by the state Department of Environmental Protection for their environmental stewardship in 2011.
The DEP’s Make It Shine Program has awarded Clean Community Awards to the town of Fayetteville, in Fayette County and to the Village of Beech Bottom, in Brooke County. Make It Shine also has honored the solid waste authorities in McDowell and Webster counties with Clean County Awards for first and second place respectively.
Clean Community Awards are given annually to municipalities that go above and beyond in their efforts to beautify and clean up their respective communities. Each municipality’s application is judged in several categories, including cleanup, recycling, youth participation and beautification.
Clean County Awards are presented to county solid waste authorities that promote environmental stewardship within their counties through cleanups, outreach and law enforcement.
“We are proud to recognize these four communities,” said Danny Haught, chief of the DEP’s REAP (Rehabilitation Environmental Action Plan) program, which oversees the state’s Make It Shine efforts.
“Their commitment to doing what is best for their communities and the environment is a model everyone can follow and will go a long way toward making West Virginia the cleanest state in the nation,” Haught said.
For more information about the Clean Community and Clean County awards, contact Travis Cooper at 1-800-322-5530 or by email at Travis.L.Cooper@wv.gov


Tom Aluise
304-926-0499, ext. 1338