About DEP


The West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection (WVDEP) enforces state and federal environmental laws in West Virginia to help protect our air, water, and land.

With the enactment of Senate Bill 217 during a special session of the West Virginia Legislature, the Division of Environmental Protection was established in October 1991. Following years of restructuring and reorganizing, the Division was elevated to a cabinet-level agency in 2001, and thus the Division of Environmental Protection became the Department of Environmental Protection.

The WVDEP’s mission is to promote a healthy environment. To do this, the agency uses more than 800 employees in nine locations around the state to administer programs that allow industry and the environment to coexist.

Quick Links

Contact Us

West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection
Charleston Headquarters
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499
Fax: (304) 926-0446
Contact Our Offices

Portrait of DEP Cabinet Secretary Harold D. Ward
Harold D. Ward
DEP Cabinet Secretary

Learn More About Us:

About DAQ

The Division of Air Quality (DAQ) administers all laws, rules, and regulations established under the State's Air Pollution Control Act and the Federal Clean Air Act of 1990.

Director: Laura Crowder
Phone: (304) 926-0475
Fax: (304) 926-0479
Website: https://dep.wv.gov/daq

About DMR

The Division of Mining and Reclamation (DMR) assures compliance with the West Virginia Surface Mining and Reclamation Act and other applicable state laws and rules.

Acting Director: Jonathan Rorrer
Phone: (304) 926-0490
Fax: (304) 926-0456
Website: https://dep.wv.gov/dmr

About DWWM

The Division of Water and Waste Management's (DWWM) mission is to preserve, protect, and enhance the state’s watersheds through the implementation of programs that control hazardous waste, solid waste, and surface and groundwater pollution.

Director: Kathy Emery
Phone: (304) 926-0495
Fax: (304) 926-0463
Website: https://dep.wv.gov/WWE

About OOG

The Office of Oil and Gas (OOG) is responsible for monitoring and regulating all actions related to the exploration, drilling, storage, and production of oil and natural gas.

Chief: James Martin
Phone: (304) 926-0450
Fax: (304) 926-0452
Website: https://dep.wv.gov/oil-and-gas

Executive Offices

About Executive Offices

The Executive Office houses the agency’s Office of Legal Services, Office of Environmental Advocate, and the Public Information Office.

Contact: Jessica Henson, WVDEP Chief of Staff
Phone: (304) 926-0499
Fax: (304) 926-0447
Website: https://dep.wv.gov/

Contact DEP

The Business Operations Office assures that WVDEP divisions and offices have the necessary tools to carry out their missions.

Director: Randy Taylor
Phone: (304) 926-0480
Website: https://dep.wv.gov/bto

Human Resources (HR) assists with staffing services, employee relations, policy development, payroll, benefits and wellness, and more.

Director: Harriett Fitzgerald
Phone: (304) 926-0499
Website: https://dep.wv.gov/bto/Pages/humanresources.aspx

Information Technology Support (ITS) develops and maintains custom software used to track WVDEP activities, provides process and data analysis, design programming, spatial data services, environmental database development, and more.

Acting Chief Technology Officer: J. Joseph Nilles
Phone: (304) 926-0499
Website: https://dep.wv.gov/bto/iris

The WVDEP is always looking for talented, skilled candidates who have a passion for protecting our state’s resources. To learn why you should work for the WVDEP, what positions are open, and how to apply, please visit our jobs page.

Quick Links

The WVDEP’s headquarters is in Charleston, WV, but we have eight field offices around the state: Bridgeport, Fairmont, Fayetteville, Logan, Parkersburg, Philippi, Romney, and Wheeling.

Contact Us

West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection
Charleston Headquarters
601 57th Street SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 926-0499

More Ways to Contact DEP