Clean Community award winners announced


The state Make It Shine Program is proud to announce the six winners of the West Virginia Make It Shine Clean Community Award. The award is given annually to municipalities across the state, which go above and beyond in their efforts to beautify and clean up their respective communities.

Each municipality’s application is judged in several categories, including cleanup, recycling, youth participation and beautification.

The 2009 Clean Community Award winners are: the City of Ranson; the City of Bluefield; the City of Dunbar; the Village of Beech Bottom; the Town of Fayetteville; and Town of West Union. Each winner will receive two road signs designating their municipalities as clean communities.

"REAP is proud to recognize these six communities that have shown such a strong commitment to litter, recycling, and environmental education. With continued efforts such as these, we will make West Virginia the cleanest state in the nation,” said Danny Haught, chief of REAP.

The West Virginia Make it Shine Program is part of Gov. Manchin’s REAP the Next Generation Initiative. For more information on the Clean Community Award, contact Travis Cooper 1-800-322-5530 or by email at


Kathy Cosco