WVDEP announces Environmental Excellence winners


West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection Cabinet Secretary Randy Huffman presented 21 Environmental Awards of Excellence today during a ceremony at DEP headquarters in Charleston.

The DEP’s annual Environmental Awards recognize the accomplishments of state industries, municipalities, educators and community leaders who strive to protect the environment, work to be good corporate neighbors and educate the state’s citizens. The awards are presented to those who share in the DEP’s mission of promoting a healthy environment and practice environmental stewardship.

“We look forward every year to honoring those who share in our agency’s commitment toward a cleaner, healthier environment, as well as showcasing the hard work they do to make our state a better place to live and work,” Secretary Huffman said.

Eligibility for industrial awards includes exemplary environmental performance and a record of compliance with regulatory authorities for the 2013 calendar year. Facilities were nominated by the DEP inspectors who work to ensure their compliance with the law. Other Environmental Award winners were nominated by DEP personnel who work with volunteer and other community-based efforts.

Following is a list of this year’s honorees:

Clean Energy – IGS CNG Services (South Charleston)
Sewage Treatment Plant Greater Than 400,000 GPD – Bluefield-Ada Wastewater Treatment Plant; City of Beckley Wastewater Treatment Plant
Industry Less Than 100 Employees – Leslie Equipment (Cowen)
Industry Greater Than 100 Employees – Weyerhaeuser Co. (Heaters)
Municipal Landfill – Raleigh County Landfill-Raleigh County SWA (Beckley)
Education and Community Involvement – The Highland School Hawks (Ellenboro); Mark Bollinger, National Park Service (Glen Jean); Davis Creek Watershed Association (Charleston); Girl Scouts Black Diamond Council (Charleston)
Safe Dams – WVDNR-Berwind Lake Dam (South Charleston)
Environmental Partnership – West Virginia Recycling Services (Charleston); Kanawha County Solid Waste Authority (Charleston)
Volunteers of the Year – Col. Rowan Post 2345 VFW and Auxiliary (Tunnelton)
Outstanding Litter Control Officer – Jimmy Stone-Raleigh County SWA (Beckley); James Miller-Wyoming County SWA (Pineville)
Environmental Stewardship – Friends of the Hughes River Watershed Association (Harrisville); Braxton County Solid Waste Authority-Town of Sutton (Sutton); Raleigh County SWA-Recycling and Education Center (Beckley); Wyoming County Solid Waste Authority (Pineville)
Cabinet Secretary Award – Morris Creek Watershed Association (Montgomery)

To read more about award winners click here


Tom Aluise