Gov. Manchin, WVDEP Recognize Environmental Stewardship at 10th Environmental Awards Ceremony


West Virginia Governor Joe Manchin and West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection Cabinet Secretary Randy Huffman recognized the environmental stewardship efforts of 40 recipients from around the state Monday at the 10th Environmental Awards Ceremony.


The West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection’s Environmental Awards recognize the accomplishments of state industries, municipalities, educators and community leaders who strive to protect the environment, work to be good corporate neighbors, and educate the state’s citizens.


Businesses and municipalities that have demonstrated exemplary performance over the last two years, have compliance records that reflect no outstanding violations and have a record of cooperation with regulatory authorities are eligible to be nominated by DEP inspection staff.


Individuals are also nominated for the awards, including those who volunteer with local civic organizations, youth groups or watershed associations.


Award categories and recipients include: Underground Storage Tank (UST), Most Improved – Terra-Petro Development Inc., CC Marts; UST Class A Certified Worker – Dennis Huff, Sam Huff Contractors Inc.; UST Class B Certified Worker – Michael A. Miller, Miller Environmental Inc.; UST Class C Certified Worker – Edward Kubinsky Jr., Crompco LLC.; UST Class D Certified Worker – Phillip Stone, Superior Testing Services Inc.; UST Class E Certified Worker – Robert Howie, RHCP Services; UST – Holtzman Oil Co.; Prima Marketing, Prima Stores.


Hazardous Waste Corrective Action – Private Trucking Operations, Union Carbide Corp., Dow Chemical; Industry Greater than 100 Employees – Cytec Industries Inc., Willow Island; Industry Less than 100 Employees – C/O Consolidated Hydro Southeast Inc., Gauley River Power Partners; Municipal Landfill – S&S Landfill; Greenbrier County Landfill; Hazardous Waste Generators – Armstrong Hardwood Flooring, Beverly Plant; Sewage Treatment Plant Great than 400,000 GPD, Most Improved – Warm Springs PSD, Berkeley Springs Wastewater Plant; Red Sulphur PSD, Red Sulphur Wastewater Treatment Plant; Parkersburg Utility Board; Sewage Treatment Plant Greater than 400,000 GPD – Greenbrier PSD No. 2, Wastewater Treatment Plant; Crab Orchard MacArthur PSD; Sewage Treatment Plant Less than 400,000 GPD – Harpers Ferry/Bolivar PSD; Town of Capon Bridge, Capon Bridge Wastewater Plant.


Land Use Development – Kanawha Electric & Machine Co.; Environmental Stewardship – Barry Milam, Upper Guyandotte Watershed Association; Kanawha County Commission; Raleigh County Solid Waste Authority; Brownfields and Voluntary Program – City of Parkersburg, Bureau of Public Debt (former CSX depot); Education and Community Involvement – Melissa Stewart, West Virginia State University Extension Service; Bob Bennett, Greenbrier County Solid Waste Authority, Greenbrier Recycling Center; Amanda Sullivan, West Virginia Department of Agriculture; Environmental Volunteers of the Year – Abby Chapple, Friends of the Cacapon River; Patricia Spangler, Fayette County Schools; Teresa Nelson, Beaver Creek Beavers 4-H Club; Brenda Miller, Busy Bison 4-H Club; Eric Autenreith, Plateau Action Network; Safe Dams Award – Civil Tech Engineering Inc., Mark Pennington; Clean Energy Award – Coaltec Energy/Frye Poultry; Outstanding Litter Control Officer – Jimmy M. Stone, Raleigh County; Environmental Partnership – West Virginia University, Marshall University Brownfields Assistance Centers; DEP Cabinet Secretary Award – Elk River Cleanup.      


Click here to view Environmental Awards program.



Kathy Cosco
304-926-0499, ext. 1331