WVDEP Recognizes Clean County, Clean Community Award Winners


CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection (WVDEP) Rehabilitation Environmental Action Plan (REAP) is recognizing one Eastern Panhandle county and five municipalities as this year’s recipients of the Clean County and Clean Communities awards.

For the second year in a row, Berkeley County has been selected as the 2016 Clean County award recipient. As the award winner, the Berkeley County Solid Waste Authority will receive $2,000 to apply toward cleanups and other environmental projects.

Five municipalities were recognized as Clean Communities. Each municipality will receive two road signs designating it as a clean community. The recipients are: 

        - Village of Beech Bottom in Brooke County; 
        - Town of Fayetteville in Fayette County; 
        - City of New Cumberland in Hancock County; 
        - Town of Wardensville in Hardy County; 
        - Town of Nutter Fort in Harrison County.

As the Clean Community grand prize winner, New Cumberland will also receive $500 to apply toward additional cleanup and beautification projects.

Both sets of awards are presented annually. Winning county solid waste authorities are honored for their efforts promoting environmental stewardship through cleanups, outreach and law enforcement. Clean Community Awards are in recognition of cleanup, recycling, youth participation and beautification efforts.

For more DEP news and information, go to www.dep.wv.gov. Also, be sure to connect with the agency on all social media platforms. Follow @DEPWV on Twitter and find us on YouTube by searching “Environment Matters.” For specific information about our REAP (Rehabilitation Environmental Action Plan), West Virginia Project WET (Water Education for Teachers), West Virginia Watershed Improvement Branch, Youth Environmental Program and Human Resources initiatives, connect on Facebook.


Jake Glance
(304) 926-0499 ext. 1335