WVDEP releases annual registration and compliance list for Covered Electronic Devices


​​CHARLESTON, W.Va. − The West Virginia Department of Environmental Protection’s (WVDEP) Rehabilitation Environmental Action Plan (REAP) Program has released the state Covered Electronic Device (CED) Manufacturer Registration and Compliance List for 2021. This list is compiled each year through registration forms and fees received from manufacturers of CEDs for sale in the state and is developed as a resource for both retailers and consumers.

The list can be found at https://bit.ly/3xX8FHY and is updated quarterly.

In West Virginia, the definition of a CED is a television, computer, or video display device with a screen that is greater than four inches measured diagonally. It does not include a video display device that is part of a motor vehicle or that is contained within a household appliance or commercial, industrial, or medical equipment. 

The registration fees collected from the manufacturers are used to fund REAP’s CED Recycling Grant Program, which provides grants to municipalities and counties to fund CED recycling programs. Over $133,000 was awarded to 12 recipients in 2020, which resulted in 206 tons of CEDs being recycled that otherwise would have ended up in local landfills. 

To ensure compliance with W.Va. Code §22-15A-28, retailers should reference this list to confirm that their CEDs are authorized to be sold in the state. Any brand that is not listed, or is non-compliant, should be reported by the retailer to REAP’s CED Takeback/Recycling Program for further instructions. Any retailer that sells covered electronic devices not authorized for sale in this state may be subject to up to $5,000 in penalties and fines. 

Consumers wishing to dispose of and recycle their cell phones and other CEDs may access REAP’s free CED recycling list at https://bit.ly/3x6OPd5. These programs offer a takeback service to consumers at no charge through their website or toll-free number.

Additional information pertaining to REAP’s CED Manufacturer Registration and Takeback Program is available at https://bit.ly/3qANtVJ. The program can be reached via email at reapCEDinfo@wv.gov or by phone at 1-800-322-5530.

For more WVDEP news and information, go to www.dep.wv.gov. Also, connect with the agency on all social media platforms. Follow @DEPWV on Twitter, Like us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/depwv/, and find us on YouTube by searching “Environment Matters.”

# # #


Terry Fletcher
304-926-0499 ext. 49720